Congratulations to James Nowoslawski, Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania Clinical Microbiology Laboratory, Courtney Comar, PhD, CPEP Clinical Microbiology Fellow at the Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania/Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia, and Nicole Loeven, PhD, CPEP Clinical Microbiology Fellow at the Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania/Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia, recipients of this years Peggy Cotter ASM Travel Award to attend ASM Microbe 2023 in Houston.

We are excited to share that the 2024 ASM Awards and Prize nominations are now open and we will accept nominations until June 26, 2023. The American Academy of Microbiology (Academy), ASM’s honorific leadership group and think tank, will select the recipients of 17 ASM awards and 1 microbiome data prize, recognizing individuals for their outstanding contributions to microbiology.   

Research Focused Awards:
Early Career Applied and Biotechnological Research
Early Career Basic Research
Basic Research
Early Career Environmental Research
Environmental Research
D.C. White Award for Interdisciplinary Research
Microbiome Date Prize

Education Awards:
Graduate Education
Carski Award for Undergraduate Education

Clinically Focused Awards:
Early Career Clinical Microbiology Research (new)
Research or Leadership in Clinical Microbiology
Scherago-Rubin Award for Clinical Microbiology
Elizabeth O. King Award

Service Focused Awards:
Award for Service
Moselio Schaechter Award in Recognition of a Developing Country Microbiologist
William A Hinton Award for Advancement of a Diverse Community of Microbiologists

ASM Awards honor exceptional contributions by our members.  We know we have a very large community and numerous individuals who deserve such an award and the national recognition that follows.  In order maintain strong support for these awards from the ASM,  we urge you take the time to nominate individuals for the above awards.   While only one individual can be selected for each award, nominees who are not selected remain in the nomination pool for the next award cycle so have additional opportunities to be considered.     

We invite you to identify and nominate individuals from diverse backgrounds, including those from underrepresented communities. Please share this opportunity with your colleagues and networks. We appreciate your nominations and your efforts to make a difference in the careers of outstanding microbiologists.  

Descriptions and nomination process can be found on the ASM website:

If you have questions about the nomination process or need other information, please feel free to contact Dr. Irving Nachamkin, Chair, ASM Subcommittee on Awards

The Eastern PA Branch ASM is a proud sponsor for the Delaware Valley Science Fair and our members helped judge the various presentations at the science fair. Congratulations to the following students:

1st Place Winner: Ian Fabris, Devon Prep (Melanie Kingett, teacher) “Efficacy of the use of bacteriophages to combat potato black leg caused by Pectobacterium atrosepticum

Honorable Mention: Sreeja Paruchuri, High Technology High School (Dine Ellsworth, teacher) “Antibacterial efficacy of antibiotics supplemented with varying sizes of gold nanoparticles on E. coli

Honorable Mention: Mia Watson, Cherry Hill High School West (Brian Grillo, teacher) “Using Aspergillus flavus biofilter to reduce nitrogen pollution in an aquaponic system”

Would you like to support STEM education in underserved communities in Philadelphia and Camden? We are looking for volunteers to serve as judges for a system wide science fair for Mastery Charter Schools.

Friday, May 26, 2023
Academy of Natural Science
1900 Benjamin Franklin Parkway, Philadelphia 19103

Mastery Charter Schools has 24 schools, mostly in underserved communities in North Philadelphia and Camden

Learn about Mastery Schools – click here

There will be a rubric and a tutorial for judges

To volunteer or ask for more information, contact:
Linda Miller, EPAASM Education Committee