2022-23 Branch Officers and Committee Chairpersons

President:  Michelle Kutzler, Ph.D.
Professor of Medicine, Microbiology and Immunology
Drexel University College of Medicine
New College Building, Room 6417, Mail Stop 461
245 N. 15th Street
Philadelphia, PA 19102
Email: mak98@drexelmed.edu

President – Elect: Vincent Tam, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Department of Microbiology and Immunology
Lewis Katz School of Medicine, Temple University
Kresge 5th Floor, Room 501
3440 N Broad Street
Philadelphia, PA 19140-5104
Email:  vincent.tam@temple.edu

Secretary: Pina Fratamico, Ph.D.
USDA-Agricultural Research Service
Eastern Regional Reseach Center
600 E. Mermaid Lane
Wyndmoor, PA 19038
Phone: 215-233-6524
Email: pfratamico.ars@gmail.com

Treasurer: Simon Knight, Ph.D.
Department of Dermatology
Perelman School of Medicine, University of Pennsylvania
BRB-II, Rm 1046
421 Curie Blvd
Philadelphia, PA 19104-6160
Email: sknight@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Councilor and ASM COMS Representative:
Joe Zackular, Ph.D
Perelman School of Medicine, University of Pennsylvania
Department of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
Philadelphia, PA 19104
Email: Joseph.Zackular@pennmedicine.upenn.edu


Committee Chairpersons

Academic Affairs, Toby K. Eisenstein, Ph.D.
Dept of Microbiology and Immunology
Louis Katz School of Medicine, Temple University
3500 North Broad Street
Medical Education and Research Bldg, Room 859
Philadelphia, PA 19140
Phone: 215-707-3585
Fax: 215-707-7920
Email: tke@temple.edu

Archives, Linda A. Miller, Ph.D.
CMID Pharma Consulting, LLC
Phone: 215-272-6590
Email: cmidpharma@gmail.com

Education, Barbara B. McHale, Co-Chair
Phone: 215-704-7674
Email: mchaleb@comcast.net

Brian Forster, Co-Chair
St. Joseph’s University
5600 City Avenue
Philadelphia, PA 19131
Phone: 610-660-3188
Email: bforster@sju.edu

Faculty Advisor, EPAASM Student Chapter
Sunny Shin, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Microbiology
Chair, CAMB-Microbiology, Virology and Parasitology Graduate Group
Perelman School of Medicine, University of Pennsylvania
2018 Johnson Pavilion
3610 Hamilton Walk
Philadelphia, PA 19104
Phone: (215) 746-8410 (office)
email: sunshin@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Infection & Immunity Forum, Chair
Sunny Shin, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Microbiology
Chair, CAMB-Microbiology, Virology and Parasitology Graduate Group
Perelman School of Medicine, University of Pennsylvania
2018 Johnson Pavilion
3610 Hamilton Walk
Philadelphia, PA 19104
Phone: (215) 746-8410 (office)
email: sunshin@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Industrial Affairs, Stephen Rittenhouse, Ph.D.
Director of Microbiology
GlaxoSmithKline
1250 South Collegeville Road
Collegeville, PA 19426
Phone: 610-917-6287
Email: Stephen.Rittenhouse@gsk.com

Membership, Andrew Baltus, PhD.
Janssen Research & Development
1400 McKean Road
Spring House, PA 19477
Tel (215) 628-5154
Email: abaltus@its.jnj.com

Monthly Programs
Jason E. Heindl, Ph.D., Co-Chair
Assistant Professor
Department of Biology and Biomedical Sciences
Rowan University
Glassboro, NJ 08028
Phone: (856) 256-4500 x53577
Email: heindl@rowan.edu

Kyle G. Rodino, Ph.D., D(ABMM), Co-Chair
Assistant Professor, Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
Assistant Director, Clinical Microbiology
Perelman School of Medicine, University of Pennsylvania
Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania
3400 Spruce Street, 4th Floor Gates Bldg
Philadelphia, PA 19104-4283
Phone: 215-662-6651
email: Kyle.Rodino@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Clinical Microbiology Symposium
Laurel Glaser, M.D., Ph.D., D(ABMM), Co-Chair
Director, Clinical MIcrobiology Laboratory
Assistant Professor, Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
Perelman School of Medicine, University of Pennsylvania
Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania
3400 Spruce Street, 4th Floor Gates Bldg
Philadelphia, PA 19104-4283
Phone: 215-662-6651
email: Laurel.Glaser@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Matthew Pettengill, Ph.D., D(ABMM), Co-Chair
Assistant Professor of Pathology
Director, Clinical Microbiology
Thomas Jefferson University Hospital
Sidney Kimmel Medical College, Thomas Jefferson University
117 South 11th Street
207 Pavilion
Philadelphia, PA 19107
email: Matthew.Pettengill@jefferson.edu

Webmaster, Irving Nachamkin, DrPH, MPH, D(ABMM), FAAM
Perelman School of Medicine, University of Pennsylvania
Professor Emeritus, Dept of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
Philadelphia, PA 19104
Email: irving.nachamkin@pennmedicine.upenn.edu