In the 19th century Philadelphia was the premier medical center in the United States. It was natural that bacteriology received more attention from members of the Philadelphia community than other American cities at the time. Many young Philadelphians went to Europe to work in the laboratories of Koch & Pasteur and brought their expertise back to the city.

In 1912 a group of Philadelphia bacteriologists formed a “club” that met on a regular basis to discuss their common interests in the new subject of Bacteriology. At the meeting of the Society of the American Bacteriologists in Boston (December 1919) it was decided to sponsor the formation of local branches of the society. Dr. David H. Bergey organized a committee that founded our Branch in March of 1920. Dr. Bergey served as the first President. After a slow start the Branch grew rapidly. Philadelphia was the site of the 1947 National ASM Annual Meeting, where many new innovations were added to that event. From 1967 to 1974 there was a separate clinical microbiology division. The Branch continues to be one of the oldest and most active Branches in the county. The Philadelphia area continues to attract top microbiologists that participate in Branch activities.

History of the Eastern PA Branch-ASM:

1912-1920 Bug Club Era
1920-1936 The Old Guard Era
1936-1967 The Young Turks Era 
List of Branch Presidents
Chronology of the Eastern PA Branch ASM, 1920 to 2014
Note: These chronologies are meant to be continual works in progress. If  Branch members have additional items for any of these institutions, please contact the Archive Chairperson listed in the Branch Officer/Committee section of this website.

Manfred Bayer
Richard Berman
Walter Ceglowski
Richard Crowell
Marjorie Dole
Louis Fare
Lucille Garofalo
Howard Goldfine
Beth Goldstein
Diane Halstead
Herbert Heineman
Victor Iacocca
Mudite Jansons
Henry Markus
James E. Miller
Lindsay Moulton
William Osborne
Lenard Pakman
Vern Pidcoe
Marianne Porter
Caroline Rinehardt
Burton Rosan
Bonita Silverman
Donald Stieritz
Robert Swenson

60+ Year National ASM Members
James Smith (1951)
Victor Iacocca (1952)

50+ Year National ASM Members
Louis Fare (1957)
Richard Crowell (1960)
Leonard Pakman (1960)
Burton Rosan (1960)
Manfed Bayer (1963)
Walter Ceglowski (1964)

40+ Year National ASM Members
Toby Eisenstein (49 yrs)
John Goldman (49)
Barbara McHale (49)
Sara Davis (48)
Marshall Phillips (46)
Frederic Marsik (46)
James Poupard (45)
Theodore Passon (42)
Arthur Crist (41)
Jon Suzuki (41)
Steven Douglas (40)
Paul Edelstein (40)
Olarae Giger (40)

More History Links- see Sidebar

Branch Archives

The Distinguished Branch Member Lectureship 1996-2006

The Stuart Mudd Memorial Lecture Series 1976-1995

History of Branch Sponsored Symposia 1969-2006

Member Obituaries

History of Clinical Microbiology at the University of Pennsylvania – Images